East West Players celebrates its 53rd Anniversary at the Annual Visionary Awards Dinner & Silent Auction. The Visionary Awards laud the achievements of individuals who have raised the visibility of the Asian Pacific American (APA) community through their craft. Proceeds from the gala will benefit East West Players’ educational and artistic programs.

MONDAY, APRIL 15, 2019

555 Universal Hollywood Drive
Universal City, CA 91608


To learn more about our sponsorships and tickets, please contact our Development Manager Dora Quach at dquach@eastwestplayers.org or (213) 625-7000 ext. 14.

Daniel M. Mayeda, Co-Chair
Peter Shimamoto, Co-Chair
Vicki Ariyasu
Albert E. Aubin
Christine Chang
Snehal Desai
Nora DeVeau-Rosen
Ken Katsumoto
Jay Kim
May Lee
Reggie Lee
Ed Lew
Rose Chan Loui
Sally Pai
Dora Quach
Judy Sasaki
Mari & Randall Tamura
Susan Toy Stern

The 2019 Honorees are:

TIM DANG, EWP Producing Artistic Director Emeritus, is the recipient of the Society of Directors and Choreographers’ Zelda Fichandler Award for transforming the regional theatre arts landscape through theatre. He is Co-Chair of the Cultural Equity and Inclusion Initiative (CEII) Advisory Committee of the LA County Board of Supervisors through the LA County Arts Commission. For 23 years, he was Producing Artistic Director of East West Players, establishing lasting partnerships with television networks, corporations, foundations, and nonprofit arts and community organizations. Dang has produced and directed over 100 plays and musicals at EWP, Pan Asian Repertory (NY), Geva Theater Center (NY), Perseverance Theatre (AK), Mark Taper Forum New Works Festival (CA), Sierra Madre Playhouse (CA), West Coast Ensemble (CA), Celebration Theatre (CA), Asian American Theatre Company (CA) and Singapore Repertory Theatre. He is an adjunct lecturer in directing at the USC’s School of Dramatic Arts and directed productions of the musical Evita and Kentucky, guiding the next generation of artists into the performing arts.




Additional Honorees to be announced soon!

Coming soon!

Coming soon!

Current sponsors (as of December 26, 2018) of the gala include:

BRONZE – $5,000
Randall & Mari Tamura

COPPER- $3,500
Peter & Jane Shimamoto

FRIENDS $2,500 (Early bird by 2/21/19 – $1,850)
Edward Lew
David & Sally Pai Unruh
John Gong
Ken Katsumoto
Al Aubin
(1) Friends of Daniel Mayeda
(2) Friends of Daniel Mayeda

Coming soon!

For press inquiries, please contact Kat Carrido Bonds at pr@eastwestplayers.org.

CLICK HERE for the full album of last year’s 52nd Anniversary Visionary Awards gala.

East West Players’ THE COMPANY WE KEEP 52nd Anniversary Visionary Awards Dinner & Silent Auction was held on Monday, April 30, 2018 at the Hilton Universal City in Universal City, CA. East West Players honored JON JON BRIONES (The Engineer in “Miss Saigon” on Broadway and Modesto Cunanan in “The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story”), LILY MARIYE (TV director and star of “ER”), SUZY NAKAMURA (star of “Dr. Ken”), and WENDY CHANG/DWIGHT STUART YOUTH FUND. The evening was hosted by Amy Hill and Anna Khaja, featuring presenters Aaron Takahashi, Marilyn Tokuda, Giovanni Ortega, Mitchell Singer, Dee Johnson, Gedde Watanabe, Reggie Lee, Ken Jeong, and Adele Lim. Performers include Samahang Modern Dance Group, Deedee Magno Hall, Cliffton Hall, Justin W. Yu, Janelle Dote, Nicole Barredo, Carissa Dizon, Randy Guiaya, Anthea Neri, Lito Villareal, and Jon Jon Briones. Thank you to EWP’s Board of Directors, Gala Committee, sponsors, Malibu Family Wines, Old Elk Bourbon, and for our centerpieces sponsored by Tanduay Rum from the Philippines. Photos by Sthanlee Mirador, Mike Palma, and Steven Lam.

Past Honorees:

Bank of America
California Community Foundation
Edison International

Pixar Animation Studios
Ralph M. Parsons Foundation
S. Mark Taper Foundation

Sony Pictures Entertainment
The Ahmanson Foundation
The James Irvine Foundation
The Walt Disney Company

Prince Gomolvilas
Velina Hasu Houston
Hiroshi Kashiwagi
Paul Kikuchi

Cherylene Lee
Perry Miyake
Edward Sakamoto
Jon Shirota

Nathan Wang
Wakako Yamauchi
Chay Yew

Rae Creevey
Tom Donaldson
Irma Escamilla
Michael Hagiwara
G. Shizuko Herrera

Rodney Kageyama
Alberto Isaac and Emily Kuroda
Mark Jue
Saachiko and Dom Magwili
Nelson Mashita

Nobu McCarthy
Scott Nagatani
Ken Takemoto
Andrew K. Wong, D.D.S.